​NIH Staff Contacts

​Potential applicants are strongly encouraged to discuss their proposed projects with an NIH Institute or Center (IC) representative prior to preparing an application. NIH representatives can provide guidance regarding 1) the suitability of the project towa rds supporting the mission of the IC, 2) the most appropriate funding mechanism for the proposed work, and 3) whether or not the IC would encourage submittal.
 
All of the announcements that are listed above have lists of NIH review, program, and grants management staff. If your proposed ideas does not fit within the context of the above FOAs, we suggest contacting some of the NIH program staff members linked to below to identify the best way to submit your application.

R01 Funding Contacts

IC Contact Name Contact Email Contact Phone
National Cancer Institute (NCI) Dr. Jerry Li Jerry.Li@nih.gov 301-435-5226
National Eye Institute (NEI) Dr. Michael Steinmetz steinmem@nei.nih.gov 301-451-2020
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) Dr. Albert Lee alee@mail.nih.gov
National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) Valentina Di Francesco vdifrancesco@mail.nih.gov 301-496-7531
National Institute of Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) Dr. John Matochik jmatochi@mail.nih.gov 301-451-7319
National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (NIAMS) Dr. Gayle Lester lester1@mail.nih.gov 301-594-3511
National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB) Dr. Andrew Weitz andrew.weitz@nih.gov
National Institute of Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD) Dr. Roger Miller millerr@nidcd.nih.gov 301-402-3458
National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR) Dr. Lillian Shum ShumL@nidcr.nih.gov 301-594-0618
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) Dr. David Balshaw Balshaw@niehs.nih.gov 919-541-2448
National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Dr. Paul Brazhnik brazhnikp@nigms.nih.gov 301-451-6446
National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) Susan Gregurick susan.gregurick@nih.gov 301-451-6446
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) Dr. Greg Farber farberg@mail.nih.gov
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) Dr. James Gnadt gnadtjw@ninds.nih.gov 301-496-0012
National Institute on Aging (NIA) Dr. Xiaoming Wang xiaoming.wang@nih.gov
National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) Dr. Joni Rutter jrutter@nida.nih.gov 301-435-0298
National Institutes of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) Dr. Jennie Larkin jennie.larkin@nih.gov
Back to Top